REVIEW: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (Firebird Trilogy #2)

Ten Thousand Skies Above YouTitle: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray
Pages: 426
Published by: HarperTeen
Publication date: 3rd November 2015
Genre: Science Fiction
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Book Depository

Synopsis:

Marguerite Caine has done the impossible, traveling to alternate dimensions with the Firebird – the brilliant invention of her parents, her boyfriend, Paul, and their friend Theo. But she has also caught the attention of enemies willing to kidnap, blackmail, and even kill to use the Firebird for themselves.

When Paul’s soul is splintered into four pieces – pieces that are trapped within Pauls in other dimensions – Marguerite will do anything, and travel anywhere, to save him. With the help of the brilliant Theo, Marguerite forges a plan to save Paul and the Firebird. But succeeding means outsmarting a genius and risking not only their lives, but also the lives of their counterparts in every other dimension.

Their mission takes them to the most dangerous universes yet: a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each leap brings Marguerite closer to saving Paul – but her journey reveals dark truths that lead her to doubt the one constant she’s found between the worlds: their love for each other.

My review:

This was so much better than the first book, it was incredibly action-packed and was definitely an improvement from the first one. At first I thought it was going to be a repeat of the first book but obviously instead of chasing Paul desperate for revenge and answers, Marguerite is trying to save him. It is completely different to the first book because it explores so much more! It better explores the relationship between Marguerite and Theo and possible feelings Marguerite might have for him. We get to explore new dimensions and also revisit an old one which I thought was really interesting as we got to see if their lives had changed any since Marguerite’s journey to their world. It was full of twists and turns and was a real page turner.

The only issue I had with this was the start. The first book just dived right in and told the story from the moment Marguerite’s father has been murdered. This worked really well and I was pulled right in, eager to find out more about the Firebird and Marguerite’s mission for revenge. Unfortunately, starting in the middle of the story with this book just didn’t work for me. I was left confused and frustrated because I didn’t have a clue what was happening. Several times I had to make sure I was definitely reading the right book and hadn’t missed one out (even though I know it’s a trilogy and the third book isn’t out yet). That’s how confusing the start was for me. I knew from the blurb that Paul’s soul had been splintered but I didn’t know how or why and you weren’t told until chapter four. It constantly switched between the present and the past which annoyed me because it didn’t flow very well. It was very abrupt and hard to follow. I couldn’t connect the ending of the last book to the start of this one and would honestly have preferred a different beginning to this book because it wasn’t the best. Fortunately, it picks up around sixty pages in and that’s when I really started getting into it. It starts to flow better and it all fits together nicely.

I think I love Theo even more in this book than the first one. He is such an awesome character, he’s constantly upbeat and never lets anything drag him down. He never fails to put a smile on my face and I love how much he is there for Marguerite and Paul. Even though he can never be with Marguerite he’s still constantly by her side and is determined to save Paul. He refuses to let her travel alone and wherever she goes, he follows her and helps her when he can. I love this friendship they have and I still would love for them to be together.

I still don’t like Paul’s character at all. I can’t explain it but I just don’t feel anything for him. I still don’t feel anything for Marguerite and Paul and can’t see a spark between them. I think this might be because we hardly see them together. We just get little snippets and Marguerite mainly talking about how much she loves him but we rarely see them together. Honestly I think we’ve seen more of Marguerite and Theo’s friendship than we have of Marguerite and Paul’s relationship. Hopefully this will change in the last book.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about Marguerite in the first book but I felt that I connected better with her in this one and I do like her but she was definitely a hypocrite in this book too. Her trust in Theo wavers throughout because of the actions of another Theo from another dimension and she can’t separate his actions from the Theo she knows and loves. I felt a little smug when we found out that other characters can act totally different in other dimensions and it isn’t just Theo. She definitely has a lot of character development in this book as traveling to these particular dimensions makes her question a lot of things. She questions her relationship with Paul and if they are truly meant to be together. Her one weakness, I think, is that she counts too much on their relationship in the thousands of dimensions there are. She believes that they are drawn together wherever they are in the world but this is not the case in the dimensions she visits this time around. It really strengthens her character by the end and instead of focusing so much on the other Marguerite’s and Paul’s she finally focuses on them instead. Her character development is superb and I’m curious to see what her thoughts will be in the last book, especially because of the ending. It was insane!

I was really disappointed with the ending of the first book because I guessed it really early on but this one took me by total surprise. The ending was incredible and I did not see it coming. It was so good and I literally have no idea what’s going to happen now. I really cannot wait for the last book to come out.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (Firebird Trilogy #2)

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    Yay, I’m glad Ten Thousand Skies is better than the first book. I enjoyed the concept and the alternate worlds Claudia Gray created in A Thousand Pieces of You but wished I could relate more to the main characters. Now I´m looking forward to book two!

    Liked by 1 person

    • divineworldofbooks says:

      Yay can’t wait for you to read it! Really hope you like it 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one who seems to be struggling with the main characters! I still don’t feel as connected to Marguerite as I would like to but I really enjoyed her character in this one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

