REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

acotarTitle: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 416
Published by: Bloomsbury Children’s
Publication date: 5th May 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis: 

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

My review:

Why, oh why did I not read this book sooner? It was absolutely amazing and at times I couldn’t bear to put it down. This is the first book I have read by Sarah J. Maas (shamefully I haven’t read her Throne of Glass series yet but I plan to get to it soon). Her writing was incredible, she told the story so beautifully and it blew me away. The world building was spot on she really painted a vivid picture of Feyre’s life in the village and this completely new world she is forced into. I was able to form a clear picture in my head and I love when an author has the ability to share their world with you like that. There is a really awesome map at the start which was really cool to look at when Feyre was describing Prythian and also a handy pronunciation guide at the back of the book. I had to keep going back to this because I kept forgetting how to pronounce Prythian, oops.

Being a huntress, I could definitely tell that Feyre wasn’t going to to be a weak character. She was so powerful and strong, even when she is torn from her family and thrust into a world she has been taught to fear, she doesn’t cower from it or from the faerie’s who live there. She immediately starts plotting ways to escape so she can return to her family. She refuses to accept that the Treaty binds her to this world and instead of breaking down, she clings to any scrap of hope she can find. I really admired her for this but at times I was incredibly sad for her when her plans to escape were only so she could look after her family. They were her one and only thought and I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, just sad that she never thought about saving herself or what she wanted. Her thoughts were consumed with her family who didn’t really seem to care about her wants and needs. I was happy for her when she finally admitted to Tamlin that she enjoyed painting. I felt that it was a step to making herself happy and it gave her a release from constantly worrying about her family. I love Feyre and she definitely deserves to be happy.

Admittedly, I did get bored at times when she kept saying how “ridiculous” and “insignificant” she was. I felt that these phrases were overused and I got a little mad when they were repeated several times. I understand why she would feel that way being the only human there but it contradicted Feyre’s character at times especially because she came across as such a strong character. She acted so fierce around Lucien and always had a witty remark for him. The conversations between them had me laughing and cracking a smile. They were so funny to read.

I just couldn’t get enough of Feyre, Tamlin and Lucien I adored them all so much. I was hesitant at first because I wasn’t sure whether to trust them or not but as Feyre’s relationship with them grows stronger I found myself warming to them as well. I love how she went from hating Lucien to becoming his friend and hating Tamlin only to develop feelings for him. It was amazing watching that bond grow and develop throughout the chapters but I did feel at times that it was rushed. I felt that her love for Tamlin came out of nowhere and I felt like it just hit me in the face. Not complaining though because I love them together, they are so adorable. I love the relationship between Tamlin and Lucien, they have such a strong bond and the way Lucien helps Tamlin protect Feyre, it made me ridiculously happy. I love them all so much.

About halfway through the book, the story really took off it was amazing. I literally couldn’t put the book down and flew through it desperate to see how it ended. The whole story was explained brilliantly and everything just fell into place or me. I could see all the foreshadowings at the start of the book that I’d missed and Sarah did an amazing job. The final chapters were brutal and so devastating for Feyre and Tamlin, my heart broke for them. I love them so much and I’m so glad they did get to be happy in the end but it doesn’t look like it will last for long. Feyre will be forever altered by the events in the final chapters and I’m scared to see how much it will have affected her in the second book.

I’m not sure if this is a mistake or not but I love Rhysand and I really can’t wait to read about him in the second book. He was such a fascinating character and I had such a weird love-hate relationship with him, I was so conflicted. I love how he protected Feyre but then he kind of screwed her over so that annoyed me but at the end he seemed like such a misunderstood character so at the same time I kind of love him. It’s probably a mistake and I will probably regret it in the second book but we shall see.

I would definitely recommend this book just because it offers such a unique and different story. It was such a great book and had me on the edge of my seat a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

