May Book Haul!

I bought a ton of books in May and thought I’d share them with you! I have included links for where the books can be purchased.

Shatter Me1) Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I am so late reading this book! I didn’t know it existed until recently. I have been seeing tons of pictures of it all over Instagram and it got to the point where I was like I need to buy this and read it. It sounds super interesting and I love the cover, it’s so pretty.

Juliette’s touch is fatal and The Reestablishment has plans to use her as a weapon because of it. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime of freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time – and to find a future with the boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Buy the book: Amazon UK 

Me before you2) Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

I decided to buy this book because my friend has been recommending it to me for months. I don’t normally read books like this but I decided to give it a go. It is also being made into a film so it has a lot of hype surrounding it.

It follows the story of Lou Clark and Will Traynor. Will has been left paralysed after a motorcycle accident and Lou has recently lost her job. She ends up being a carer for Will despite having no experience or knowledge of his condition. Will has no desire to live anymore after his accident and Lou is determined to change that and find reasons for him to live again. It sounds a really emotional book and I can’t wait to read it!

Buy the book: Amazon UKWater stones

The Girl on the Train3) The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I have been wanting to read this book for so long now so I just decided to go ahead and buy it! I love books like this and this one caught my eye the moment it was released. It sounds so interesting and really thrilling. I love crime thrillers and murder mysteries, they always keep me on tenterhooks.

It follows Rachel who goes through the same routine every day. She takes the train morning and night and on her journey she passes by the same house. She starts to imagine a life for the people who live in that house but little does she know she will become more involved in their lives than she realises. She realises that their life is far from perfect and she uncovers impossible secrets that will change everything. Her life will become more significant than she could ever have guessed.

Buy the book: Amazon UKWaterstones

The Book Thief4) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (Tenth Anniversary Edition!)

I absolutely adore this book, it is possibly my favourite book ever. I first read this book in 2013 and when I found out about the tenth anniversary edition I just had to buy it. My other copy is so battered and worn, I just needed a really nice copy. This book is so pretty and I cannot wait to read it again!

I think my own summary of the book will not do it justice so here is the synopsis for the book:

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Buy the book: Book Depository

Conjuror5) Conjuror by John & Carole Barrowman

Admittedly, I only bought this book for a signing to meet John and Carole! FYI, they are the most genuine people I have ever met. They were so kind and took the time to chat with everyone. I will read this book because it does sound pretty interesting! Plus I haven’t read a book by John and Carole yet so I’m super curious to see what it’s like.

I have no idea what it’s about so again, here is a synopsis for the book:

Seventeen-year-old Rémy is no ordinary teenager. He is a Conjuror, descendant of an ancient bloodline that can change reality with music. He is also an orphan: his family have been murdered, and he’s determined to find their killers.

But he can’t hunt them down alone. He needs help from twins Matt and Em Calder, who can bring art to life and travel in time through paintings.

Together, Rémy, Matt and Em must race through history, facing the terror of the Inquisition and the horror of the slave trade before they can uncover the truth. But evil forces are rising in the world. Will the final battle save them or destroy them?

Buy the book: Amazon UKWaterstones

acotar6) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass

I have been seeing this book everywhere and I finally bought it! This is the first book I will have read by Sarah J. Maas, so I’m really curious to finally find out why her books have so much hype surrounding them. It is loosely based on Beauty and the Beast which makes it really intriguing. I cannot wait to read it.

Synopsis:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Buy the book: Amazon UK – Waterstones

A Court of Mist and Fury7) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Mass

I bought this book with the first one because it was buy one get one half price! Really hope I like it now.

Synopsis:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Amazon UK Waterstones

throne of glass8) Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass

Since I bought A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury, I thought why not buy Throne of Glass? There is a crazy amount of hype surrounding this series and I thought it was about time I found out why. All I know about this book is that it is about an assassin named Celaena Sardothien. The cover looks really cool and it definitely caught my eye.

Synopsis:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Buy the book: Amazon UK – Waterstones

Gone9) Gone by Michael Grant 

I have been wanting to read the Gone series for months nowI finally bought the whole series on Amazon and I am so excited to read it! It sounds amazing and I will definitely be reading the first book soon.

In the blink of an eye, everyone over the age of fifteen in Perdido Beach disappears. The only people left are teens, children and babies. With no way to contact the outside world and no way to get help, the only thing they can do is try and figure out what’s happened.

But with the loss of adults comes other troubles. Hunger threatens and bullies take control. Animals are mutating and the teenagers themselves are changing. They are developing supernatural abilities that some people find dangerous and deadly. Sides are being chosen and fights are brewing. With no adults to take control, they must find a new leader to take charge. But above all that, another threat lurks. On your fifteenth birthday, you disappear just like everyone else.

Buy the book: Amazon UK – Waterstones

Leave a Reply

