REVIEW: Flawed by Cecelia Ahern (Flawed #1)

Flawed-coverTitle: Flawed by Cecelia Ahern
Pages: 416
Published by: HarperCollins Children’s Books
Publication date: 24th March 2016
Genre: Dystopian
Format: Hardback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

In this stunning novel, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which perfection is paramount and mistakes are punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

My review:

First things first, can we just take a moment to appreciate how beautiful the UK cover is? It is absolutely stunning and not going to lie, this was one of the main reasons I purchased this book. I was browsing books when it caught my eye and I just had to pick it up to see what it was about. I was very intrigued and I loved the quotation on the back of the cover:

“I am definitely in shock. I must be. I cannot fathom how I can be here. I can’t be Flawed. I can’t be Flawed. I am perfect.

I absolutely love this quotation and when I first started reading Flawed, I went into it expecting something similar to Divergent. Let me tell you, it is completely different and nothing like I’ve ever read before. I was pulled into the story right from the start and I felt a whirlwind of emotions all through the story. This book left me in complete shock and I couldn’t put it down. If you haven’t read it please go out and buy it. You need to read it.

I absolutely adore Celestine North and sympathised with her so much throughout. I did like her at the start of the book but I became frustrated with her at times and found myself wanting to shake her into action. She was a very weak character and looked to others for help but when she is branded as being Flawed that’s when the book really takes off. Her character development throughout the book is simply amazing and she becomes a completely different person to the girl we are introduced to in the beginning. She becomes a much stronger character and I was begging her to show everyone she wasn’t going to be pushed around anymore. I just love how being branded as Flawed was something she feared because she couldn’t fathom being anything over than Perfect and then her worst nightmare comes true! She is branded and forced to accept her new life as Flawed. Cecelia Ahern does a brilliant job creating Celestine’s character and it was so interesting to read about her after she had been branded. The brand changes her so much and I think it really opens her eyes to the society she lives in.

I did feel that parts of the story were rushed and that there wasn’t a lot of world building which gave you very little chance to digest the characters and the society they live in. From the start of the book you are thrust into their world and are left struggling to understand what is going on. I thought this was a good thing though because I was intrigued by what was happening and I wanted to carry on reading to understand what had happened and why it had happened. It kept you guessing which is what I really liked about this book.

I love the overall message that the book sends out, that there is no such thing as a ‘perfect’ society, everyone is equally Flawed. It was interesting to see people’s opinions towards someone they have grown up with, become close friends with, change so drastically when that person is branded as Flawed. We saw others who were able to look beyond the brand and see a person who is equal to them. It was so interesting reading about Celestine’s family after she had been branded, the way they treated her, the way they acted around her. She has such loving parents and I cannot wait to read about them again. The last book is called Perfect and I’m so excited to see what will happen within the society and if everyone will be accepted as equals regardless of their flaws.

The ending of the book was agonising and I’m gutted that we have to wait so long for the next book. Hopefully 2017 will come around fast!

Leave a Reply

